e-alliance ::


Who are the G8?
The "Group of Eight" or G8 refers to high-level ministerial meetings composed of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States. A representative from the European Commission also participates. A G8 summit with the heads of states of each of the countries occurs once each year.

Why target the G8 in campaigning?
As some of the most economically powerful countries in the world, the decisions made in the G8 meetings and the actions - or lack thereof - that come out of them have a critical effect on global efforts for health and development.

What are we calling for?

Ahead of the 2010 G8 and G20 Summits in Canada, the EAA has been helping to add faith-based voices to those of wider civil society that are calling for more to be done to meet the G8's 2005 pledge to provide Universal Access to HIV prevention, treatment, care and support by 2010. It has drafted three letters which have been signed by a diverse range of religious leaders and organizations:


1. Letter from religious leaders to G8 heads of state on Universal Access

2. Letter from religious organizations to the Canadian Prime Minister on Universal Access

3. Letter from religious organizations to the Canadian Prime Minister on food security and HIV


Useful Links

World AIDS Campaign
G8 NGO platform

Resources to help you
"How the G8 can keep the promise of Universal Access by 2010" by the Stop AIDS Campaign
Search for more resources in the Resource Library.